KAICIID Proud to Welcome our New Board Member, Sheikh Ul-Islam Pashazade

22 Nov 2017
Sheikh ul-Islam A. Pashazade

 The International Dialogue Centre (KAICIID) is proud to welcome our newest member of the Board of Directors, His Virtue Sheikh Ul-Islam Allahshukur Pashazade. Sheikh Ul-Islam Pashazade succeeds the distinguished Board Member Dr. Sayyed Ataollah Mohajerani, who served on the Board of Directors from 2012, the establishment of KAICIID, until October 2017.

His Virtue Prof. Dr. Allahshukur Pashazade is the current Chairman of the Caucasus Muslims` Board (CMB), Chairman of the Qazi Council (Fetwa Institution) of the CMB and Sheikh ul-Islam of the Caucasus.

Born in 1949 in Azerbaijan, he received his religious education in Mir Arab Madrasah, Bukhara, then at Tashkent Islamic University, Uzbekistan, graduating in 1975. Upon his return to Azerbaijan, he held several religious posts. In 1980 he was elected Chairman of the Caucasus Muslims Board, and received the title of XXII Sheikh ul-Islam of the Caucasus.

Prof. Dr. Allahshukur Pashazade has been the co-chair of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) Interreligious Council since 2004. He is the current chairman of both the Advisory Council of Muslim Leaders of the CIS, and the chairman of the Supreme Religious Board of Caucasian Peoples.

He is a senior Fellow of the Royal Aal-al-Bayt Institute for Islamic Thought (Jordan), and a Fellow of “Taqreeb bayn al Mazaheb” Committee for the Islamic Convergence and of “Dar al Taqreeb” Foundation for the Islamic Convergence.

About the KAICIID Board of Directors

The International Dialogue Centre (KAICIID) is an intergovernmental organization mandated to promote dialogue among different religious and cultural groups to promote justice, peace and reconciliation and to counteract the abuse of religion to justify violence. The Centre is governed by a multi-religious Board of Directors, consisting of representatives of five religions - Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism.

The Board Members are: Dr. Hamad Al-Majed, Dr. Kezevino Aram, His Excellency Bishop Miguel Ayuso, His Eminence Metropolitan Emmanuel, Reverend Kosho Niwano, Sheikh Ul-Islam Allahshukur Pashazade, Reverend Mark Poulson, Chief Rabbi David Rosen and Dr. Mohammad Sammak.