KAICIID Board of Directors Condemns Violent Acts in the Name of Religion

28 Mar 2018

KAICIID’s Interreligious Board of Directors, composed of religious leaders from five major world religions (Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism) released an official statement on events in Trèbes, in southern France, where three people were killed and 16 wounded after a gunman held up a car, opened fire on police and then took hostages in a supermarket, and the bombing of a Mosque in Herat and a shrine “Kart-e Sakhi” in Kabul, Afghanistan.

In one voice, they condemned violence in the name of religion: “We are saddened by the violence and deaths in Trèbes. We mourn the death of Lieutenant-Colonel Arnaud Beltrame, who voluntarily exchanged places with one of the hostages, saving her life, and giving his own in an act of great selfless heroism. We also strongly condemn the recent bombings in Afghanistan, which were claimed by an extremist terrorist group (the so called ISIS), and in which over 30 people were deliberately killed and many others injured. 

In all of these attacks, the perpetrators misused religion and religious teachings to justify violence and bloodshed. All of these attacks are indefensible: no religion justifies violence. We call on all people of good will to come together to resist these attempts to divide us, and to defend the values of common citizenship, and coexistence.

Our most sincere condolences and sympathies are with the families and friends of the victims, and all those who are affected by these despicable actions.”

About the International Dialogue Centre Board of Directors
The International Dialogue Centre (KAICIID) is an intergovernmental organization mandated to promote dialogue among different religious and cultural groups to promote justice, peace and reconciliation and to counteract the abuse of religion to justify violence. The Centre is governed by a multi-religious Board of Directors, consisting of representatives of five religions: Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism.
The Board Members are: Dr. Hamad Al-Majed, Dr. Kezevino Aram, His Excellency Bishop Miguel Ayuso, His Eminence Metropolitan Emmanuel, Reverend Kosho Niwano, His Virtue Sheikh Ul-Islam A. Pashazade, Reverend Mark Poulson, Chief Rabbi David Rosen and Dr. Mohammad Sammak.