KAICIID Board Condemns Violence, Calls for Continued Dialogue in the Wake of Nice Attacks

15 July 2016

The KAICIID Board of Directors, consisting of representatives of five religions - Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism - unanimously express their deepest condolences to the victims and their families of the attacks yesterday in Nice, France. The attacks, which took place on Bastille Day, a national day of celebration in France, have claimed over 84 victims so far. The Board issued today the following statement:

“Bastille Day is a celebration of liberty and national identity in France. The purpose of this attack, on a day of national unity and celebration is to polarize and breed hatred between people. We urge all people of good will to recognize their neighbours and fellow citizens as sisters and brothers. Unity and respect for each other is the strongest defence against violent extremism, especially in these difficult times. That defence can only be built and strengthened through dialogue. We stand with the people of France in this time of grief, and with victims of violent extremism everywhere in the world.
We are outraged and deeply saddened by the mass violence perpetrated by terrorists that caused horrific casualties in Turkey, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon and many other places over the last few weeks alone. We denounce in the strongest possible terms all violence in the name of religion, and all those who seek to perpetrate it.”

About the Board of Directors

KAICIID is an intergovernmental organisation mandated to promote dialogue among different religious and cultural groups to promote justice, peace and reconciliation and to counteract the abuse of religion to justify violence. The Centre is  governed by a multi-religious Board of Directors, consisting of representatives of five religions - Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism.

They are, in alphabetical order: Swami Agnivesh, Dr. Hamad Al-Majed, His Excellency Bishop Miguel Ayuso, His Eminence Metropolitan Emmanuel, Dr. Sayyed Ataollah Mohajerani, Reverend Kosho Niwano, Reverend Mark Poulson, Chief Rabbi David Rosen, Dr. Mohammad Sammak.